Brandeis Alumni, Family and Friends

Former Brandeis “Jeopardy!” Contestants React to Passing of Alex Trebek

November 10, 2020

After longtime Jeopardy!” Host Alex Trebek passed away Nov. 8 at the age of 80 following a battle with pancreatic cancer, Brandeis alumni who were past contestants on the popular quiz show took to Twitter to remember the iconic host and share memories of their appearances on the program.

  • Alex Trebek and Sandha Khin on set of "Jeopardy!"
    Host Alex Trebek with Sandha Khin ’07 on the set of "Jeopardy!" in 2020.
  • Alex Trebek and Adam Levin on set of "Jeopardy!"
    Host Alex Trebek with Adam Levin ’94 on the set of "Jeopardy!" in 2019. Levin came within $18 of ousting James Holzhauer on the beloved quiz show. Read Levin's first-hand account of being a contestant.

Sandha Khin ’07, who most recently competed in February 2020, says getting on the show was a lifelong dream:

Brandeis Sports Information Director Adam Levin ’94, who had viewers on the edge of their seats when he nearly beat record-breaking champion James Holzhauer in April 2019, says his appearance on the program was one of the best days of his life:

Levin recalls a special moment between his then-8-year-old son and Trebek during taping.

Two-time champion Jennifer Morrow ’07 has this to say:

Morrow and fellow contestants also recall their favorite Trebek one-liners.

Jocelyn Dorfman ’10, who used her Final Jeopardy! answer to pay homage to her beloved Washington Nationals, expresses her condolences:

In light of the recent passing of several prominent public figures, she adds:

Brandeis has produced its fair share of “Jeopardy!” contestants on the long-running show, which is not announcing plans for a new host at this time. Among the youngest Brandeisians to have competed on the show was Hannah Nekritz ’23. The incoming Brandeis first-year was a wildcard semifinalist in the 2019 Teen Tournament.

Other notable alumni contestants include two-time champions Barbra Resnick ’00 and Loren Lee Chen ’10 and five-time champions and Tournament of Champions quarterfinalists Paul Holman-Kursky ’02 and Mehrun Etebari ’04.