Provost Research Awards fund early-stage inquiry, teaching innovation

The Provost's Office has announced this year's recipients of the Provost Research Awards, given to support innovations in teaching and research at Brandeis. Some $500,000 was awarded to 43 projects selected from 94 proposals.

The awards "are aimed at early stage research to initiate innovative scholarly inquiry and creative activities that have the potential for significant, sustained impact," Provost Lisa Lynch said. "Teaching innovation grants focus on innovations in teaching and student assessment, with special preference given to proposals that look at ways of addressing issues of diversity and inclusion and to team teaching/interdisciplinary course design."

Three committees had the challenge of evaluating all of the proposals submitted.  Research Committee members included Gannit Ankori, John Burt, Katy Graddy, Ed Hackett (chair), Sarah Lamb, Cindy Thomas and John Wardle.  Teaching Committee members included Carol Damm, Susan Dibble, Deb Garnick, Sarah Lamb, Paul Miller, Karen Muncaster and Dan Perlman.  Teaching/General Education Committee members included Joel Christensen, Paul Miller, Karen Muncaster, Dan Perlman, Elaine Wong.

Take a look at a few of the highlights from the research awards here.

Date: July 27, 2018