Illustrious Brandeis faculty to retire this month

David Hackett Fischer, a fixture at Brandeis since 1962, is one of 12 Brandeis faculty members who will retire in June.

Twelve Brandeis faculty members are retiring in June. Collectively, they've logged tens of thousands of hours teaching, mentoring and researching. They’ve published hundreds of academic papers, chapters and books. Throughout their storied careers, they’ve contributed immeasurably to academic excellence at Brandeis. BrandeisNOW celebrates their accomplishments in their fields, and their contributions to generations of students and the life of the university:

Alan Berger, associate professor of philosophy

Arrived at Brandeis: 1981

Berger's expertise is philosophy of language, metaphysics, philosophy of mathematics, philosophical logic, contemporary 20th-century analytic philosophy and philosophy of science. He wrote "Quine: From a Critical Point of View" and "Terms and Truth: Reference Direct and Anaphoric." He was a visiting professor at Harvard University in the philosophy department in 2011 and the founding director and professor at the Saul Kripke Center at the Graduate Center of the City University of New York from 2007-2009.

Mary Baine Campbell, professor of English

Arrived at Brandeis: 1988

Career highlight: Book awards including the Barnard Women Poets Prize, the Modern Language Association's James Russell Lowell Prize, and the Susanne M. Glasscock Humanities Book Prize for Interdisciplinary Scholarship.

Campbell has long been devoted to the arts at Brandeis. She developed the creative writing program and ran it for seven years. She persuaded the university to authorize “credit/no credit” grades in arts courses in which teacher feedback was more important. She is also an award-winning poet and plans to spend much of her retirement picking up the writing career she put on the back burner in recent years. "I'm retiring early to give me time for the poetry," she says. "That's too deep a part of life to abandon."

Read more.

Categories: Faculty, Campus News
Date: May 30, 2017