Brandeis Board of Fellows welcomes 17 new members

Outgoing Board of Fellows Chair Paul Zlotoff ’72 announced the addition of 17 alumni and friends, including four alumni couples, to the honorary organization. The group was elected by the Board of Trustees at its March meeting.

“I am delighted to welcome these outstanding individuals to the Board of Fellows,” said Zlotoff, a longtime Brandeis trustee. “Through the years, they have shown a great commitment to the University.”

Trustee Joyce Krasnow, P ’83, takes over for Zlotoff, who led the Board of Fellows for six years.

“We thank Paul for his visionary leadership of the Board of Fellows,” President Frederick Lawrence said. “He has taken the Fellows to a new level on which we can and will continue to build. I am
delighted that Paul will continue to serve on the Board of Trustees, where his energy and wisdom have already made a major contribution. He is a true son of Brandeis.”

The new fellows:

Len Asper ’86 served as a Brandeis trustee from 2007-12 and is currently a member of the Board of Overseers at the Brandeis International Business School (IBS). He established the Asper Center for Global Entrepreneurship at IBS. He is co-founder and managing partner of Syngus Ventures, and president and CEO of Anthem Media Group.

Dr. Harvey ’64 and Phyllis (Tropper) Baumann ’67 have been active members of the Brandeis alumni community for many years. Harvey, a retired surgeon, is a member of the Brandeis Arts Council. Phyllis, a retired lawyer, and Harvey established a scholarship in honor of her parents, Elsie and Irving Tropper. Phyllis’ sister Pamela ’72 and brother-in-law Dennis Shulman ’72 are Brandeis grads.

Dr. Sherwood ’55 and Judith (Lack) Gorbach ’58 have helped organize their recent class Reunions and served as co-chairs of the Sachar Legacy Society luncheon last year. They created a scholarship for undergraduates and a fellowship for graduate students at the Heller School for Social Policy and Management. Sherwood is an infectious disease researcher and professor, and Judith served in senior positions at the Massachusetts Department of Public Health.

Glenn ’82 and Susan (Lewtan) Langberg ’82 have been active alumni since graduation. Glenn served on the Board of Trustees and Susan is a member of the Alumni Admissions Council. They have hosted Brandeis events at their home in New Jersey and helped organize class Reunions. Glenn is founder and CEO of GRL Capital Advisors and Susan is a former securities analyst. They generously support the Annual Fund. Susan’s brother Stuart Lewtan ’84 is a Brandeis trustee.

Kent Lawrence ’66 has been active with the Alumni Club of Chicago and chaired his 40th Reunion Committee. He is a partner at the Chicago law firm of Lawrence, Kamin, Saunders & Uhlenhop, where he specializes in alternative dispute resolution. As president and executive director of the M.R. Bauer Foundation, he has represented the foundation in interactions with and support of Brandeis.

Linda (Rothman) Levine ’62 has helped organize her class Reunions. A retired psychiatric social worker, she operated her family’s discount men’s clothing store, Rothmans, in New York during the mid-1980s. She established a scholarship as a memorial to her parents, Rose and Harry. Her sister Phoebe (Rothman) Giddon ’56 is also a Brandeis fellow.

Walter ’69 and Edith (Marcus) Mossberg ’69 have long been active in University affairs. Walter, the personal technology columnist for the Wall Street Journal, has served on the Board of Trustees and the Science Advisory Council. He won the Alumni Achievement Award in 2004. Walter and Edith, an educational consultant, helped organize their 40th Reunion. They support student scholarships.

Barry Newman ’52 is a veteran stage, movie and television actor best known for his starring roles in the 1971 movie “Vanishing Point” and the mid-1970s TV series “Petrocelli.” He has supported the Class of 1952 Endowed Scholarship.

Leslie Pearlstein, P ’94, was national president of the Brandeis National Committee (BNC) and served on the Brandeis Board of Trustees. She has also held other positions on the BNC national board and was president of the group’s chapter in Greater Boston. Her daughter is Rachel (Pearlstein) Raifman ’94, MA ’96.

Phyllis (Nichamoff) Segal ’64 and her late husband, Eli Segal ’64, a civic leader and the founder of the Corporation for National and Community Service, have generously supported Brandeis. After his death, she founded the Eli J. Segal Citizen Leadership Program in his honor at the Heller School for Social Policy and Management. She serves as vice president of

James and Rosalie (Ripaldi) Shane ’66 have served on the Hillel at Brandeis board of directors, and Rosalie has been co-chair of the Women’s Studies Research Center. They have generously supported both groups. James is a real-estate developer and Rosalie is an artist and owner of Saxonville Studios.

Judith Shapiro ’63, the president emerita of Barnard College, has been a speaker at various Brandeis events through the years. She was recently named president of the Teagle Foundation. She received the Alumni Achievement Award in 1998 and the Abram L. Sachar Silver Medallion from the Brandeis National Committee in 1995.

Categories: Friends, Giving
Date: May 29, 2013