Campus News

Five student-athletes and 1989 championship men's tennis team to be honored

Five former student-athletes and a championship team will be inducted into the Joseph M. Linsey Athletics Hall of Fame on Oct. 7 during Homecoming, the Department of Athletics announced.

The honorees include:

Jon Fobia ’73 was one of the top men’s soccer players of the pre-Mike Coven era. He was an All-New England selection in each of his three seasons in an era when the team included Division I, II and III players. As a sophomore, he scored 13 goals and added five assists – in just 11 games. He played a variety of positions during his Brandeis career.

Greg Steelman ’91 was a three-time track and field All-American and one of the great throwers in school history. His school records in the discus, shotput and 35-pound weight throw still stand at Brandeis. In 1986, he set an NCAA Division III record in the discus to win the national championship.

Michael Mayer ’94 participated in the NCAA Fencing Championships three times. He finished fourth in the nation in the saber as a junior, the highest finish ever for a Brandeis men’s athlete at the time. He earned two University Athletic Association titles and received Brandeis’ Charlie Napoli Scholar-Athlete Award in 1994.

Marshall Goldman ’03, who was named Brandeis’ Male Athlete of the Year in 2003, was one of the top butterfly swimmers in school history. He qualified for the NCAA Division III Championships in three of his four seasons. He graduated with 12 New England titles and 10 school records. His best times still rank among the University’s top three in all three butterfly events.

Sara Albert ’04 was a three-time All-New England and All-University Athletic Association outfielder for the softball team. She ranks second in school history in triples, home runs, RBIs and slugging percentage. As a junior, she earned All-New England honors when she led NCAA Division III in home runs, RBIs and slugging percentage.

The 1989 men’s tennis team, coached by Tom Foley, finished 13-1 against Division III opponents, won the program's first University Athletic Association title and became the first team from New England to qualify for the NCAA Tournament. The squad boasted a pair of All-Americans, 1988 NCAA champion Noel Occomy ’89 and Ian Murray ’89. Other team members were Larry Carter ’90, Jon Cordish ’90, Mike Gratz ’91, Paul Ranis ’91, Peter Richman ’89, Mark Weinberg ’91 and Eric Weinstock ’90.

Categories: Campus News
Date: June 27, 2017